DAW Audio Composition Project #2

 

Summary

During this session project I worked on improving the arrangement of my tracks within the synthwave genre. Throughout the project I also worked greatly on my piano skills when it comes to chords and melody.

To this date it may be the most complex music production project I’ve worked on with song structure with inspiration from Animadrop’s “Through The Storm.”

Audio File Formats and Definitions

AIFF (Audio Interchange File Format): stores standard CD-quality audio; similar to WAV (Higher Quality)

WAV (Waveform Audio File Format): CD audio; can be saved with different sampling and bit rates; similar to AIFF (Higher Quality)

MP3 (Audio File): Used to store audiobooks and music on a hard drive; Close to CD-quality sound; the higher quality sound comes from higher bit rates which also take up more storage space

MIDI (Musical Instrument Digital Interface): music data: notes played, when notes are played, how long each note is played, and the velocity of each note played; used to be able to exchange and use information between software and hardware programs; no actual audio data

All the audio file format information is found at: fileinfo.com

Song Used For Song Structure

I used Through The Storm as my reference when working with my composition. I really just love the kicks and atmospheric feels that it creates so I tried to incorporate that within my song. It’s also a very synth heavy song.

GarageBand Tracks

Here are a collection of screenshots of my composition project. The DAW used for this project as a challenge was GarageBand.

Here I am showing the very end of the pre-chorus beginning into the chorus.

Both of the above are small showcases of the melody for the song; mostly to showcase my current skills on the piano.

Screenshot of every track in this composition.

 

Final showcase of my automation for this composition project.

My Composition (“Raining Synth”)

Visual: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1P1YclOGjPAtjS6OAOVq8KG3_6WLr4Yq7/view?usp=sharing

Audio (loseless): https://drive.google.com/file/d/17gCsO30zmN6YoadhsUpd891QQkjriqKs/view?usp=sharing

Audio (compressed): https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Iqh2v5FAakTZ2RrlVMHob2DKiKZlyNm2/view?usp=sharing

Feedback

  • TBA

What I Learned & Problems I Solved

Overall throughout this project I learned how to compose a song with better arrangement and melody. One major issue that still persists however is mixing where I tried to follow a tutorial to no avail which I’ll be linking below.

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email